The Boy and the Dump Truck

As I was picking the kids up from school today, there was a huge dump truck in the park beside the school. I mean really huge. It was dumping red dirt on the baseball diamond. I was fascinated watching it through my rear view mirror as I sat in the line of cars. I found it odd that I was so captivated by this great, big red-dirt dumping truck and the kids walking past on their way home from school didn’t even seem to notice it. They walked, in their groups of friends, talking, playing, laughing, oblivious to the dump truck. I thought, “What’s the matter with these kids? Aren’t kids supposed to be drawn to stuff like this? Have children lost their sense of wonder?”

And then, the boy I was waiting for came into view. A slightly chubby, red-headed, round-faced, hair-cut-in-a-bowl-shape, nine or ten year old boy, wearing a puffy, black jacket that was too big for him and pulling his backpack on the ground behind him. At first, he was walking with his eyes to the ground, dragging his feet a little, looking like the long day at school had really taken its toll on him. Then, he noticed my dump truck. I watched the world fade away from his view. All he saw was that dump truck. He stopped, dead in his tracks, dropped the back pack on the ground beside him and watched in awe as the red dirt poured down. He was totally transfixed. His mouth was wide open and slowly, a smile of delight spread over his entire face. When he remembered that there were other people around, he started looking at everyone with a look of disbelief on his face. “Don’t you guys see that?” the look on his face said very clearly. He kept looking between the other kids and the dump truck, turning his whole body back and forth, with his arms flying and a look of glee on his face. It seemed that the long day at school was already ancient history.

It was great. Kind of made me wish I had a boy.

12 thoughts on “The Boy and the Dump Truck”

  1. Jackie…I love Little Richard books!

    Fierce…I love this post. It reminds me how little I get excited for things. Or at least show my excitement with no shame. I’ve been working on smiling more…but it makes people think I’m up to no good.

    JamB…I noticed your wonder.

    Like

  2. Wonder. It is something that the world seem’s to beat out of us as we grow older – or at least do its darndest to. At the school I teach at we’ve been talking about inspiring wonder in our older students and trying to maintain what is naturally there in the younger. I’ve recently taken to conducting classes outside once in a while and just make them look, listen, and WONDER about the simple things in life. And how much they teach me when we do this! If they learn one thing from me I would hope it would include glee at the common.

    Like

  3. collaborate and listen.
    That made me laugh out loud…..N a coffee shop

    Bean~
    Thanks. p.s. people always think I’m up to no good.
    p.p.s. maybe, ok definitely @ times I was; although that has nothing to do w/ you.

    Carl~
    Yes. Good. Better than I deserve. You?

    Like

  4. I love this post too. I love the resurfacing of one of my dearest friends and groomsmen, the one and only–Jamboree. Leslie, I love this post so much because one of Simeon’s favorite things in life is a big, fat, dump truck! He screams and drops everything, points his finger and in his language, yells, “BIG TRUCK!” We read Bob the Builder books and he skips all the pages until he can see Muck, the dumptruck. He then caresses Muck’s chrome grill with the biggest smile on his face.

    Like

Leave a comment